How to delete the Overworld, Nether or End from your Minecraft Server

This article will help you to reset the overworld, nether, or end dimensions in your server. If you do not want to spend the time to do this, you can always open a support ticket and our support team will do it for you. If you want to reset the entire world, follow our guide for resetting the world.


Contents

  1. Quick Guide
  2. Resetting a Single Dimension
  3. Further Reading & External Links
  4. StickyPiston Support

Quick Guide

If you are already familiar with FTP and locating folders, these are the steps for you.

  1. Stop the server.
    This can be done in the Multicraft control panel or from inside the server with the /stop command.
  2. Determine which dimension(s) you would like to reset.
  3. Locate the following files in your world folder on the server for whichever dimension(s) were chosen in step 2.
    <world>/region/ = Overworld
    <world>/DIM-1/region/ = The Nether
    <world>/DIM1/region/ = The End
  4. Delete the region folder for the dimension to reset.
    WARNING: This will reset everything from the buildings in the dimension, to all mobs inside of it (excluding players)
  5. Repeat step 4 for all dimensions you want to reset, then start your server

Resetting a Single Dimension

Decide which dimension(s) you would like to reset. If you want to reset more than one dimension. This will keep all of the world generation the same, meaning that the world will keep the same seed, if you want to change the seed of the world, you will need to reset the entire world .

  1. Stop the server.
    This can be done in the Multicraft control panel or from inside the server with the /stop command.
  2. If you are unsure of whether you want to reset the dimension or not, now is the time when you should take a backup of your world so if you change your mind you can always restore it.
  3. Login to the server using FTP. For more information on how to use FTP you can read our article about how to upload and download files using FTP.
    You only need to login to FTP, you do not need to upload or download anything. We are only going to be deleting folders already in the server.
  4. In your FTP client, go into your world's folder. By default, the world folder will be named world , but if you have a custom world folder name, you will need to delete the folder which matches the world-name in your server.properties file.
  5. Find the corresponding region folder of the dimension you want to delete. The dimension region folders can be found below:
    <world>/region/ = Overworld
    <world>/DIM-1/region/ = The Nether
    <world>/DIM1/region/ = The End
  6. Once you have located the folder, select the region folder and delete all of it. In the Multicraft FTP File Access, this is done by selecting the box to the left of the folder name, then clicking the Delete button at the top left of the file list. Repeat this step for all dimensions that you want to delete
  7. Once you have deleted the region folder from each dimension that you want to reset, you can start your server .


StickyPiston Support

Whether you own a server with StickyPiston or don’t, we are always happy to help with any and all issues you may be having. Open a support ticket with our team and we will be in touch.

Open Support Ticket


  • 0 Users Found This Useful

Was this answer helpful?

 Print this Article

Also Read

How to Upload a Minecraft Map to your Minecraft Server

ol {list-style-type: none;counter-reset: item;margin: 0;padding: 0;} ol > li {display:...

How to run Minecraft Commands in-game

If you are a Server Operator or have been granted OP permissions (See: How to OP a Player on your...

How to use a whitelist on your Minecraft server

A whitelist can be used to limit which players can join your server.This is ideal if you want to...

How to backup your Minecraft World Folder

This guide will cover how to create a backup of your server’s world files and how to download...

How to restore a Minecraft World From a Backup

If your world ever badly gets griefed or gets corrupted we keep 3 backups of your world which are...